The Australian Curriculum – what you need to know

5 - 16 years
Australian Curriculum logo

The Australian Curriculum has been rolled out in schools across the country. The curriculum includes learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities. But what does it all mean? And what will your child actually be learning in school? Find out what you need to know.

The Australian Curriculum has been designed to “teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become active and informed citizens.” It is organised around three core dimensions: learning areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities:

Learning Areas

Learning areas are subjects or groups of subjects that have been brought together – for example, humanities and social sciences includes history, geography, civics and citizenship, and economics and business.

General capabilities

General capabilities are broad skills and abilities that are developed through all subjects, and include literacy, numeracy, ethical understanding and creative thinking.

Cross-curriculum priorities

There are three cross-curriculum priorities that are emphasised in learning across all subjects: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders histories and culture; Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia; and sustainability.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has been responsible for the development of the curriculum. They have produced some handy guides for each stage of the curriculum. Follow the links below to find out more about how these three core dimensions influence what your child is learning at school.

Print iconPrint
Last modified
4 March 2020